Where is your trust?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight. 

Proverbs 3 : 5 – 6

This past week I’ve had two things that have made me think. First and foremost is my current job situation. I’ve finished my qualifications at a funny time compared to the normal term and therefore it’s a little hard to find a job at the moment. I’ve been applying and looking for some but for some reason or another it hasn’t been viable. The one time I did apply for a job and went in for a meeting, the position had already been filled. Normally many people would be disappointed but I wasn’t. I had prayed about this position and said “Lord if this isn’t for me, let it be clear” and so I walked out of that meeting, waited a few minutes so I wasn’t in clear sight and ‘turned’ to God and merely prayed “thank you Lord for making it clear, thank you for listening to my desires.”

This may seem like a weird way of looking at things, being happy for not getting a job which may have been beneficial (even if only financially). But, when you look at the bigger picture, God has our best interests in mind. He knows what we want but he also knows what we need and he knows that what we want and what we need are not always the same thing. This is something that we should keep in mind when we pray, it may not always turn out that what we want is what we need. After all we should remember the following verse:

My frame was not hidden from you,
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book,
    before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
    How vast is the sum of them!

– Psalm 139 : 15 – 17

The way we can look at this is a positive and uplifting view so that we can aim for the sky. I caught up with a friend who is going overseas to study with no long term plans but rather short term ones in regards to accommodation etc. All I could think of was the above Psalm. God has planned all of our days, (don’t get confused about free will here) and he sees each of us as a precious son or daughter. We need to be positive that he wants to do the best for us even if we don’t see it that way and so what ever we do, if we do it in prayer and in a spirit of love then we are doing all that we could to let God move. God doesn’t need our permission but if we want him to move in our lives then he wants us to ask him to move, create that relationship and trust that your Heavenly Father knows what is best for you!

One thought on “Where is your trust?

  1. Pingback: Commitments | christian skittles

Leave a Reply

