Psalm 3

A Psalm of David. When he fled from his son Absalom.

LORD, how many are my foes! How many rise up against me! Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.”

But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. I call out to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain.

I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me. I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.

Arise, LORD! Deliver me, my God! Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked. 

From the LORD comes deliverance. May your blessing be on your people.

I was unable to sleep one night this past week and so uncharacteristically for me, I turned on my phone as it was close by and opened up my bible app instead of playing a game or checking facebook as I usually do. I went to the psalms, often seen as the original praise songs that are a source of comfort with verses that uplift the soul.

Psalm 3 has a notation that I included here, it is a Psalm of David but that is not what interested me the most in my sleeplessness – it was that David said this Psalm when he was fleeing from his son Absalom. Firstly, knowing your life is in danger and praying / singing to God shows great trust in our Heavenly Father which was a great encouragement to me. Secondly, it got me interested in the story of Absalom.

Its not all the little details that interested me, its the fact that Absalom was a son of David who conspired against his father to take the crown and in fact had himself heralded as the king in Hebron. Where this conspiracy seems to begin (not a biblical theologian so could begin much sooner) is in 2 Samuel 15 and in verse 13 the passage starts with the title David Flees. Absalom wanted his father’s kingdom (which we know went to Solomon the Wise King) and tried to take it by force and ultimately failed.

Now, I know that David was no saint. He would not have won a husband or king of the year award or even possibly father of the year considering… But he had his moments of being a good spiritual role model. In a time when he was essentially fearing for his life, he turned to the Lord and prayed the psalm above and many psalms have mentioned before it “A Psalm of David”From this though, we can see that David trusted his life in the hands of his God. Of my God. And so, despite his flaws David can at least show us how to live out the following verses…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight. 

Proverbs 3 : 5 – 6

 

One thought on “Psalm 3

  1. Great stuff….I was listening to these chapters in the bible this morning….reading bible chronologically so Psalms come in with Samuel etc….freaky that you just wrote a post about it….maybe God is speaking to me about this…will pray some more….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

